Life is for Living Every Day

Embracing Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

Why I don’t want my kid growing up normal

Leave a comment


As a parent there are so many things you want and/or do not want for your child. And yes, balancing these can drive you crazy!
For starters, you may not want her to be as poor as you were growing up but she still needs to appreciate the value of money, acknowledge the significance of delayed gratification, show empathy for those who do not have enough and embrace the gift of sharing with others. Even after 18 years, I still want Nathan to learn the necessary life lessons by simply listening to me and following my exact instructions … instead of living primarily to experience what happens when a different road is taken.

A lot of this post therefore covers so much of what I should say and how I should say it to my own offspring, that I’m simply going to reblog these words right here for him to see.

Now all I have to do is find a way to get him to read it …

larinnachandler

I don’t want you to grow up normal. I don’t want you to think that the only way to relieve a broken heart is a prescription for a bottle of pills. I want you to feel that hurt, to remember it… and if it was your fault too, I want you to fix that, and not do it again. I want you to learn and not depend on outside stimuli to get you through life.

I don’t want you to grow up normal. To feel that a standardized test is a true measure of your worth and that grades are what define you. I want you to spend time helping other people, growing and learning in your own time. To know that a helping hand to one in need is sometimes worth far more than a test score.

I don’t want you to grow up normal. To never leave the…

View original post 496 more words

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

