Life is for Living Every Day

Embracing Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

Turning Trials Into Testimonies

Leave a comment


 

Photo by Gale E

Photo by Gale E

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1:2-4 (NIV)

♦   ♦   ♦

Do you see your trials as opportunities for growth or potential acts of terrorism on your life? When you see a situation coming hard and fast do you run eagerly towards it or sprint hastily away?

I am the latter; I admit it. I despise drama of any sort, conflict of any sort and what I term ‘unnecessary stress which could have been avoided if others had done what they were supposed to do when they were supposed to do it’ situations of any sort. But the saying “perception is reality” is very true and our attitude towards our trials can either make us or break us.

In my Daily Wisdom for Women devotional I remember being told:

“However, instead of shunning trials, let’s rest in the Lord and run toward Him, believing that the things that test us lead us to maturity … and deep, deep joy.”

Wow! We’re being asked to embrace something we would rather not have in the first place.  It’s a tall order but even though I may sigh and through my hands in the air ever so often, I will be like the man who brought his son to Jesus in Mark 9:17-24 and proclaim to my heavenly Father: “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”

Have a Thankful Thursday … and believe (like, really believe)!

Photo by Gale E

Photo by Gale E

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

