Life is for Living Every Day

Sharing this fact: Faith + Family + Friendship + Love + Laughter = Life

The Battle

Leave a comment


Fighting cancer. It’s like a battle. A very serious one. Sometimes we come out alive. Sometimes we die. Thankfully this sweet blogger is a survivor. She doesn’t only remember but is brave enough to share her battle. My mom didn’t make it. I miss her. A lot.

SNIPS & SNAPS

Where am I?

Faced down,

It’s hot.

I’m parched.

Dusty ditch?

Roadside gutter?

Who’s territory?

What war?

What uniform?

What happened?

Missile, land mine?

Shock

confusion

exhaustion

eyes closed

attached at wrist?

Gun?

Can’t feel my body

Voices nearing

don’t flinch

play dead.

English words

sigh with relief…

women hurry

to my aid

turn me over

place mask over mouth

I breath

They leave

I pass out

Waking later

gagging, coughing

alone

in hospital room

attached to breathing apparatus

hooked to a drip-stand

get up and fight

never give up

It’s a battle with Cancer

© Southampton Old Lady 2013

I often wondered why people referred to it as a “battle” with Cancer.  It is very much fight or flee combat. While staying in hospital and undergoing chemotherapy for Hodgkins Lymphoma,  I hallucinated that I was at war. Two nurses arrived and put a breathing apparatus on me while I was semi-conscious…

View original post 25 more words

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother and lover of laughter; story teller and best-selling author; happy to follow God's lead and to leave out my mantra: "you've gotta be a rainbow in the lives of others especially when it rains."

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

