Life is for Living Every Day

Embracing Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

Motherhood with Benefits

Leave a comment


Photo by Gale E

My son is 18 years old. Now, instead of having to look after him 24/7 it seems as though I spend a fair deal of time reminding him I even exist. When he was born, I decided to totally dedicate 16 years to teaching him as many life lessons as possible. That was the small window I saw us having together before he left my influence. It was definitely a challenge but worth it!

There were lots of things I had to put on hold: parties, going to the gym, studying, working too late.  I’ve shared about being a parent here and here and here and the sacrificial list seemed endless but through it all one thing was clear: I learnt that women cannot truly ‘have it all’. Something has to give.

Life is all about trade-offs … and being in denial does not help. My advice to a younger me would be to make a decision on what I want and what I am willing to sacrifice to get what I want, bearing in mind that total commitment to a career (whether as an employee or entrepreneur) or a family means one or the other may suffer (for lack of a better way of describing it).

Maybe that’s not clear enough but thanks to www.begintobelieve for clarifying in this post My Journey from Motherhood to Other Important Stuff! which included part of a recent interview by Oprah Winfrey featuring Shonda Rhimes. I am a great admirer of Shonda, she is such a brilliant and talented writer! And I guess what’s most exciting is that she is a black woman with children making her dreams happen on her terms.

My final take away: may all women continue to rock on and be awesome – especially those with children and demanding but dreamed-of careers! Thanks for visiting 🙂

♥   ♥   ♥

 

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

