Life is for Living Every Day

Sharing this fact: Faith + Family + Friendship + Love + Laughter = Life

“May I Buy Your Groceries?”

Leave a comment


 

I read the words; tears came to my eyes; I was sorry I didn’t think of doing something similar on my end of the planet. It wasn’t as if I wasn’t able to really … well, maybe not because I am a chicken with a huge pretend afro of courage most of the time and not brave at all.

And then there was this, which sounded a bit like me: “I don’t know anyone’s story, their background, their pain or their journey in this world.  I judge the badly dressed, the overweight, the sloppy, the ignorant, the ill-mannered.” 

Lord have mercy and yikes! How dare I be so judgemental? And how dare I not try harder to truly make a difference in the world of another, especially after encouraging others to acknowledge the fact that every single one of us has an amazing unique story? My heart hurt and I hung my head in shame.

This story ‘Walmart is a Holy Land‘ may not touch you as much as it touched me but I am still recommending there be tissues on hand as a family’s bravery in stepping out to actively help others at Christmas aka offering a little heaven on earth is revealed.

More importantly, I can’t close this post out without giving a big thanks to Jami Gold for originally sharing the link on her Facebook page; without her I would never have experienced that warm fuzzy post-Christmas feeling that only a great story can give 🙂

May you find your own version of the Holy Land in 2016 and may you be humbly successful in paying your blessings forward.

 

Photo by Gale E

 

 

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother and lover of laughter; story teller and best-selling author; happy to follow God's lead and to leave out my mantra: "you've gotta be a rainbow in the lives of others especially when it rains."

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

