Life is for Living Every Day

Embracing Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

We all have a song

Leave a comment


 

Do you know why the caged bird sings?  I never thought about it actually.  Even when we had a yellow budgerigar which filled the house with its beautiful chirping very early each morning until it died, I never wondered about the little bird’s song or melody. Besides, weren’t birds there to sing anyways? I simply enjoyed the beautiful notes when I chose to and ignored them on those days when I was so preoccupied with day to day living the song merely became nothing more than miscellaneous background noise.

Today I wonder if I was a bird in a cage, would I sing so merrily day in and day out? Would it bother me if no-one was around to acknowledge my awesome voice? What would I sing about anyway?  Or would I be so upset to be in a cage that I would be silent and sullen, offering nothing to the world?  Maybe I would only sing to be fed and watered?

Well that was way too much thinking especially since I’m not a bird but as famed poet Maya Angelou says:

“A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.”

So do you have a song inside of you just waiting to be heard?  Are you waiting for permission to sing?  Or maybe you think your song isn’t good enough for others to hear? The time for you to sing is now!  Don’t let anything or anyone hold you back!  Share your song and share your words; sound your beautiful voice from within your metaphorical cage … because the world is waiting to hear from YOU.

baby birds with mother

Photo by Gale E

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

