Life is for Living Every Day

Sharing this fact: Faith + Family + Friendship + Love + Laughter = Life

Vivid memories held dear

Leave a comment


Young mummy

MOM: 12 Oct 1939 – 19 Apr 2009

 

I have very vivid memories of my mom, some better than others.

I remember the sacrifices she made to raise my sister and I, as she bent over the kitchen sink for example washing her hair instead of going to a professional stylist.

I remember the masses we went attended together, singing and praying and singing some more.

I remember the horror of bad news thrown upon us: what? Pancreatic cancer? When, why, how much longer? Why her?

I remember the bravery in the midst of immense pain and at the end, peace … finally.

I have very vivid memories of my mom, many seared deep into my mind and heart, some better than others.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Memory Quotes

“The life given us by nature is short, but the memory of a life well spent is eternal.” – Cicero

“We do not remember days; we remember moments.” – Cesare Pavese

“As long as we live, they too will live; for they are now are a part of us; as we remember them.” – Jewish Prayer 

“Death leaves a heartache no-one can heal; love leaves a memory no one can steal.” – Irish Tombstone

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.” – Author Unknown

♥   ♥   ♥   ♥   ♥

This is my second submission for the WordPress Photo Challenge: vivid; here’s my first interpretation 🙂

 

 

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother and lover of laughter; story teller and best-selling author; happy to follow God's lead and to leave out my mantra: "you've gotta be a rainbow in the lives of others especially when it rains."

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

