Life is for Living Every Day

Sharing this fact: Faith + Family + Friendship + Love + Laughter = Life

Mothers Hands

Leave a comment


I lost my mom to pancreatic cancer is 2009. She was 69 years old and we never got to celebrate her 70th birthday in fine fashion. Since she has gone I think of the times when I was impatient or abrupt (like when we went shopping or when – in my opinion – she took too long to make up her mind about something) and admit that I would have behaved differently if I knew her life would have been so short.

Now I tell others to cherish their moms because you never know how long you will have them with you. Doesn’t matter how frustrating she is, or how slow she is, or how stubborn – at least she’s still with you so love her and love her lots!

Morning Story and Dilbert

Morning Story and Dilbert Vintage Dilbert
February 18, 1999

A few years ago, when my mother was visiting, she asked me to go shopping with her because she needed a new dress. I don’t normally like to go shopping with other people, and I’m not a patient person, but we set off for the mall together nonetheless.

We visited nearly every store that carried ladies’ dresses, and my mother tried on dress after dress, rejecting them all. As the day wore on, I grew weary and my mother grew frustrated.

Finally, at our last stop, my mother tried on a lovely blue three-piece dress. The blouse had a bow at the neckline, and as I stood in the dressing room with her, I watched as she tried, with much difficulty, to tie the bow. Her hands were so badly crippled from arthritis that she couldn’t do it. Immediately, my impatience gave way to an…

View original post 215 more words

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother and lover of laughter; story teller and best-selling author; happy to follow God's lead and to leave out my mantra: "you've gotta be a rainbow in the lives of others especially when it rains."

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

