Life is for Living Every Day

Embracing Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

Perfectly Imperfect … And Loving The Journey

Leave a comment


“Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. Let those of us who are mature think this way, and if in anything you think otherwise, God will reveal that also to you.”  Philippians 3:12-15 (ESV)

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it 100 times: “I am not perfect!” How could I be? Half of the time I’m barely managing to juggle the various balls in my life while the other half finds me scrambling to pick up the balls that have fallen.

And besides, if I was perfect wouldn’t my life be absolutely boring? I wouldn’t have the opportunity to learn from my mistakes (and there have been and continue to be many) or pass the life lessons I’ve learnt on to my teenage son.

WOP Letting Go Of Perfect

I was forced to think about my life a little more a few weeks ago when I attended a women’s ministry conference hosted under the theme “Letting Go Of Perfect”. It was an eye-opener. We women don’t only try to be perfect in one area of our lives, we want to be perfect in them all: perfect wife, perfect mother, perfect employee, perfect daughter, perfect volunteer. It’s like in the same way we can be multi-tasking queens, we try to translate this ability into dancing to the beat of many drums for a long time – before falling to the ground, spent and worn out. The resultant stress is so not worth it! All we can do is the best we can with what we have for as long as we can.

Unfortunately, our quest to be perfect sometimes leads many to erroneously believe Christians are perfect, that we walk around with our heads in the sky judging others who may not fit into our plan or see things the way we see them aka “thou shalt not …” or else! That may indeed be true for some but it’s definitely not an all encompassing blanket to be thrown over everyone.  It’s like Peter pays the price for Paul, and Paul in turn continues to pay for all.

My random thoughts here are merely my humble perceptions; I am definitely still a work in progress even though “I’ve come a long way baby” (and without smoking too)!

Hopefully my posts will show how beautiful life can be even when it’s hard, that family is everything, why it’s important to make the most of every single day we’re above ground and most of all: why it’s so good to be believe in something greater than ourselves.  Besides, no-one remembers easy … do you agree? Hugs!

“Surely there is not a righteous man on earth who does good and never sins.”  Ecclesiastes 7:20 (ESV)

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

