Life is for Living Every Day

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

This is definitely the sign …

Leave a comment


Photo by Gale E

Photo by Gale E

On the way to church on Sunday we saw an amazing rainbow. It had been raining hard off and on for most of Saturday, and even as we were about to leave home a sudden shower delayed our departure to mass.  Imagine my surprise to see that the first reading was taking from Genesis, and spoke to God’s covenant with us after the great flood. Coincidence? No. With God there is no such thing as coincidence.  I believe He was assuring us that everything would be ok post Friday afternoon when our teenaged son got into a vehicular accident which has resulted in: (a) no car for his dad for a while, (b) significant expense in repairs, (c) much head-holding and sighing because budgets have to be seriously re-worked once more.

Yet, we are so so very grateful no-one was hurt, the car can indeed be repaired, and God loves us enough to send a bright beautiful rainbow in the midst of rain (and dark clouds) while on our way to  praise Him for life.  He’s not only good, He’s simply awesome … what say you?

First Sunday of Lent
Lectionary: 23

Reading 1

God said to Noah and to his sons with him:
“See, I am now establishing my covenant with you
and your descendants after you
and with every living creature that was with you:
all the birds, and the various tame and wild animals
that were with you and came out of the ark.
I will establish my covenant with you,
that never again shall all bodily creatures be destroyed
by the waters of a flood;
there shall not be another flood to devastate the earth.”
God added:
“This is the sign that I am giving for all ages to come,
of the covenant between me and you
and every living creature with you:
I set my bow in the clouds to serve as a sign
of the covenant between me and the earth.
When I bring clouds over the earth,
and the bow appears in the clouds,
I will recall the covenant I have made
between me and you and all living beings,
so that the waters shall never again become a flood
to destroy all mortal beings.”

Genesis 9:8-15

Source: United States Conference of Catholic Bishops

Photo by Gale E

Photo by Gale E

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of loud laughter amidst tears; happy to follow God's lead while writing a word or two (and winning national awards) to make a difference in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

