Life is for Living Every Day

Embracing Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

How To Pray-101

Leave a comment


Do you ever find it hard to pray? Like those times when your heart is twisted into a million different kinds of knots and you can’t utter one single word to express what’s going on in your life? When things are so hard all you know is that one more thing is all it’ll take before you break into a thousand pieces? I know because I’ve been there … more than once … more than twice.

A survivor of down-sizing, divorce and death of a loved one I thought my ‘D’ days would never end but prayer really does help, and I assure you so will this post on “How to Pray-101”. It’s a simple 6-step guide to praying … especially for those days when you find it hardest. I’m starting right now; what about you?

prayer & practice

My mother was a spiritual healer and adviser. Her name was Alma Eugene Oxford. Every one who came for prayer called her Mother Oxford, her friends called her Jeannie. People would come from all over to be healed from illness and bad decisions.

When I was growing up, Mama would have prayer service for us at home at least twice a week. During prayer service, she would read and teach us from the Bible. We prayed, sang and testified about what we were thankful to God for.  My 6 other brothers and sisters and I hated it; we would much rather watch TV or be outside playing!  We’d try to get out of it by saying we were sick or tired but it never worked!

But I have to say now that these services were the most impactful part of my childhood.  They laid the foundation for how I would make…

View original post 650 more words

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

