Life is for Living Every Day

Sharing this fact: Faith + Family + Friendship + Love + Laughter = Life

How can you receive if you haven’t really asked???

Leave a comment


Photo by Jackie Vanterpool

Photo by Jackie Vanterpool

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21 (NIV)

♥   ♥   ♥

She had been out of a job for more than a few months. I never knew. If she had reached out to me I could have passed on info about several vacancies I came across, as well as spread the word quietly among other friends. It doesn’t matter how high the unemployment rate is in a country, jobs still turn up from time to time.

He didn’t want others to ‘know his business’. So no-one knew his son was gravely ill and needed urgent medical attention. No-one knew the operation would cost the family thousands of dollars. No-one knew he needed their help so they couldn’t offer it.

Shhhh! It’s a secret!

I first wondered about these types of situations in 2013 and pledged to be different going forward. Since then however I have often been told I put way too much of my life out in the open. Maybe that’s true … or maybe not. I do know that when Nathan was younger and things were really hard for us I didn’t hesitate to pick up the phone and ask his godparents to donate some milk and Pampers to our little family. When my mom was dying of pancreatic cancer and we needed to source oxygen, special foods and medical support I didn’t think twice about asking others for help. When I was first separated from my ex-husband and my world was falling apart all around me I engaged every single prayer warrior I knew so they could add their words to my own.  I kept no secrets, especially on those days when I thought I was going to seriously lose it and needed people to understand what I was going through.

But the interesting thing here is that although I am always willing to ask on behalf of someone else and I don’t mind giving (and giving and giving), it’s the asking for something for myself that I find most difficult. I even skirt around the issue by telling God: “Ok Father, you know exactly what I need so I don’t really need to articulate it for you (right?) so let’s just work together and everything will be fine.”

Do you really know what you want?

The bible tells us to ask and we will receive, but I think we need to be bold and ask in specifics. First off however, we need to be clear in what we want. If our need involves a white automatic sedan with a big trunk to carry more groceries, a 5-bedroom house painted bright yellow with a 2 car garage to allow for more comfortable fellowship, funds to erect a fence around your property to keep your family secure, or just a little quiet time every day to find yourself – ask God. If you dream of sending your child to university, providing nursing care for your ailing parent or getting home help because your career is so demanding you can’t find the time to clean or cook – ask God. Tell Him what you want and why you want it. Admit that you have no idea how you will get what you want because your resources are limited, but you know that His are infinite. Let Him know how thankful you are for the blessings you already have and that you’ll continue to serve Him while he works on the ‘other stuff’. Continue to praise Him in the tough times and He’ll come through for you as you move into the good ones.

6 Steps to Receiving

Promise yourself that starting now, you’re going to ask. You’re going to knock so doors will be opened. You’re going to step out in faith because God is with you and you’re worthy. You’re going to follow these six steps 🙂

  1. Define what you want in specifics, write it down if necessary
  2. Have a conversation with God, write down your prayers and date them
  3. Praise Him in the morning and praise Him some more in the evening
  4. Get ready, write down what you will do when you get what you are praying fo
  5. Receive your blessing, write down the date you received it and how you celebrated
  6. Pay it forward, because that’s one of the most rewarding feelings in life

 

Ready, get set, go!

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.” Matthew 7:7-8 (NIV)

Featured Image -- 8876

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother and lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead and to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

