Life is for Living Every Day

Sharing this fact: Faith + Family + Friendship + Love + Laughter = Life

The problem with worrying

Leave a comment


It’s hard not to worry most days but this can become more of an issue at Christmas when there’s so much going on – Christmas trees to be decorated, goodies to be baked, family and friends to be visited, not to mention trying to get people a few things off of their wish lists.
Christmas can indeed be a very harrowing and nerve racking time for many of us but these days there are quite a few people without jobs, loved ones, material possessions, even hope. As I said around this same time last year, worrying solves nothing. It does not add a single hour or day on to our lives but tends to take away from us.
This season I invite you to worry less and live more. Just a suggestion 🙂

Life is for Living Every Day

girl praying

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  Philippians 4:6 (NIV)

It’s hard not to worry when life is right up there in your face.  As your situation worsens progressively you can even lose hope of it getting any better.

I worried about losing my job – and I lost it.  I worried about losing my marriage – and I lost it.  I worried about losing a loved one – and I lost them.  Worrying (and I did a lot of it) didn’t help me to keep my job, my marriage or my mother.  I worried so much it was like a hobby for me.  I became a whining friend, a harried parent and a stressed out daughter; definitely not pleasant to be around.  The problem with worrying however is that it solves nothing and is usually a colossal waste…

View original post 150 more words

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother and lover of laughter; story teller and best-selling author; happy to follow God's lead and to leave out my mantra: "you've gotta be a rainbow in the lives of others especially when it rains."

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

