Life is for Living Every Day

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

Enduring exercise (aka Just Do It!)

Leave a comment


 

sneakers

My poor old purple Nike cross trainers – enduring my fitness ups and downs 🙂

At one point in my life I weighed almost 140 lbs.  Not good for someone standing at just over 5′ tall.  After changing jobs in 2005 however I changed my lifestyle as well.  I ate more sensibly and joined a gym which led me to a new and improved body transformation.  At 120 lbs I was more confident not to mention elated that I was now 2 dress sizes smaller.  But then my trainer migrated and I was at a loss as to what to do with myself. I invited them and the pounds willingly came back; they couldn’t wait!

I was demotivated and inconsistent with my exercise.  I knew I needed help especially since cancer, diabetes, hypertension, high blood pressure and a host of other ailments existed in my family. Yet I remained in a constant lazy funk, only surfacing to prepare for and run the occasional 5K which always left me panting and out of breath.  Something needed to give … and soon.

Then, finally! Enter my current trainer Marlon Reid (macacofitness@gmail.com) and my introduction to Russian kettlebell training.  “Kettle what??!! ” Yes, I said kettlebell – something that looks like a black cast iron ball with a handle.  Huffpost Healthy Living offers a better explanation of why the bell is so great (here’s an excerpt):

“For starters, kettlebell exercises burn more calories in less time than traditional workout regimens. Since training with a kettlebell requires the user to engage multiple muscle groups at the same time, one study found that kettlebell workouts burn more than 20.2 calories per minute. That’s like running a 6-minute mile pace or cross-country skiing uphill. Kettlebells it is!”  Read more

My kettlebell and I perform squats, deadlifts and of course lots of swings together.  I’ve gone from jiggling to firm, from weak to strong, from inconsistent to consistent. Best of all it’s a super great exercise for women (and men too).  Maybe that’s why I have my own bell at home – for the added convenience of using it whenever I want.  Unfortunately however, it’s only 20 lbs so I have to make good use of my trainer’s 25 lb and 30 lb bells when I work out at the gym … while hoping that someone reading this will seriously consider an early Christmas gift 🙂

But seriously, why do I endure with my training programme, especially on those days when I would much rather not? Because I prefer to be healthy, to be actively doing something to reduce daily stress, to test the limits of my body, to go further than I’ve gone the day before but most of all to be an example of ‘don’t ever give up – just do it for you’ to my son Nathan. But what’s your ‘endurance’ story?  Do you even like exercising?  Have you benefited from a special programme or diet regime? How do you keep motivated aka how do you ‘endure’?  Tell us!

Double kettlebell swings

It’s all in the hips!

Pink: one of my fav colours

Photo by Marlon Reid

Photo by Marlon Reid

 

 

 

 

 

Kettlebell video by Cody Storey

Click on the image for a fun video kettlebell demonstration

 

This post is the submission for the WordPress Photo Challenge: Endurance: “Share a photo of what endurance means to you — maybe it’s your beat-up, well-traveled running shoes, the oldest structure in your town, the vista you earned climbing that mountain, a photo of your wedding ring, or your dog, tongue lolling, running full out.”

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of loud laughter amidst tears; happy to follow God's lead while writing a word or two (and winning national awards) to make a difference in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

