Life is for Living Every Day

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

What it feels like to be Mixed Race?

Leave a comment


Never thought about how someone feels being a ‘mixed race’ person but can empathise after reading this very honest post. We do have racism here on our little rock but it’s not as in your face as other places. Is this good or bad? I mean, would you not rather know how someone really feels about you instead of having them pretend? Probably, but I think it’s even better for us to see each other as human beings first and try to get along – because we are ALL mixed. Definitely something to think about thanks to Jody!

silhouette scribbles

Someone recently asked me what it felt like to be mixed race and this made me realise, I’ve never really written before about my own ethnicity and culture. Firstly we have the term mixed race – before anyone gets all political with this, mixed race is a term I feel completely comfortable with. Now however, we are supposed to say dual heritage instead, just as we are no longer supposed to say half caste which I do find offensive, along with half-breed. I have been called all of these names (and worse).

download (4)I have a British white parent (a mixture of English, Irish, Scottish and Welsh), and a black Caribbean parent whose own parents are from Barbados. Both my parents are British. My Caribbean grandparents emigrated from the West Indies in the early 1950s as the UK is the mother country of Barbados and the British government asked them to…

View original post 585 more words

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of loud laughter amidst tears; happy to follow God's lead while writing a word or two (and winning national awards) to make a difference in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

