Life is for Living Every Day

Sharing this fact: Faith + Family + Friendship + Love + Laughter = Life

Dear God, a little help here please …

Leave a comment


It is good that God knows what we need even before we do. I have lots of wants which I admit are not needs, and I get confused between the two very easily.  For example, I want a house with a little more space for all of the stuff Nate and I have collected over the years, someone to landscape my yard into a beautiful garden, a pool to laze by when it’s unbearably warm, some new modern appliances (as well as saucepans and frying pans now that I’m cooking more often), and some additional quiet hours in the day to spend alone with my thoughts and dreams.

I want to be able to volunteer more and to work with young girls who have so many more distractions today than I ever did and to be the mentor I never really had. I want to read to children and to share my love of writing with them while helping to build their creativity. I want to lose weight so that I can fit into the same sized jeans I wore when I was 21 (well, maybe not) and I want to sleep peacefully at night without ten million things running noisily around in my head all competing for attention.

But what do I need?  I think my needs are intangible rather than tangible.  For example, I need to be a good mother and a great friend, a supportive co-worker and a willing, faithful child of God.  I need to be more compassionate and slower to judge, and the hardest two things: to always forgive others and to love them as I would love myself.

So where based on all that I’ve said, does one draw the line between a ‘need’ and a ‘want’???

Well even though I long for more, God has been really amazing to me lately and I am truly blessed with a wonderful son, supportive family, loyal friends, a job that enables me to pay my bills and an overall better appreciation for life. In the midst of my blessings however, I am acutely aware of those who have less than I do. There are many of us on this very day without work, without family or friends to be there for them, without food or clothing or who are terminally ill. By extension, how do we who have (in most cases barely enough for ourselves and our families) share with those who do not? How do we stretch our resources meaningfully when we have so little?

Well God reminded me of my Lenten walk last year, and sent me back to a chapter entitled “Generosity in Desperate Times” in a book called: Women of Courage: 31 Daily Bible Readings – The Remarkable Untold Stories, Challenges & Triumphs, of Thirty-One Ordinary, Yet Extraordinary Bible Women by Jennifer Carter. If you think being a woman today is hard, then think about those of us who lived in biblical times.  But what is the answer to our questions?  Well what I have learnt is this.

  • If we remain faithful to God, He will remain faithful to us.
  • If we remain generous at all times, God will make sure someone else is generous to us.
  • If we listen to what God tells us to do and then we go out and do it (no questions asked), His promises to us will be realised.

I believe you and I are fully aware that God knows exactly what we need and when we need it.  He will provide our bread and meat just as He did for Elijah.  All we have to do is hold on and be faithful – because help is coming!  Until then, go out and be filled to overflowing with God’s unconditional awesome love, as well as His timely provision for our needs.

Do you know of someone who may be wondering if God has forgotten them? Then share this word as well as find a way to encourage them.  God will return whatever you have invested so much more, you will never regret it.

Women of Courage - 31 Daily Devotional Bible Readings

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother and lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead and to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

