Life is for Living Every Day

Embracing Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

Do you find it harder to receive than to give?

Leave a comment


gift giving

My closest friends will tell you that they only have to say the word and my time/money/whatever else is theirs. Why then am I not giving them more of an opportunity to return the favour as such? To make matters worse, I love doing unexpected acts of kindness for others … but often fail to remember to do the littlest of things for myself – am I not just as worthy?

This was the question I found myself struggling with in September of 2012 when I wrote a post entitled: “Is It Easier To Give Than To Receive?”  I think I am better now but I’m not quite where I want to be.  I still tend to sit back and let someone offer to help instead of just going out there and asking nicely for what I need.

Why can’t I fully embrace asking and by extension allowing another person to experience the joy of giving?  Is it pride?  Is it not wanting anyone to ‘know my business intimately’? Or am I just too lazy to go to all the trouble of explaining what’s going on in my life to someone else, albeit a potentially willing giver/helper?

I can’t quite put my finger on it, but thought I’d ask you my loyal readers: do you find it harder to receive than to give?  Let me know your thoughts on this by leaving a comment … because I know for sure I’m not the only out there with this challenge!

 

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

