Life is for Living Every Day

Embracing Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

It’s Not About You

Leave a comment


Photo by Gale

Photo by Gale

I understand the sentiment behind the gift.  I really do.  After years of putting everyone at the top of my life ladder it’s probably time I became better at looking after me.  I agree.  But I hesitate.   

Maybe it’s because I know people who focus entirely on themselves to the exclusion of everyone around them.  It truly is all about them.  They don’t care about helping others, sacrificing a little time to spend with loved ones or doing anything that detracts from their ‘self’ agenda. 

Actually I think this cup should say: “It’s All About Us”.    Because it’s about me and you, and the millions of people living together in the space known as earth.  It’s about doing for me and doing for you.  It’s about helping your fellow man even while helping yourself.  It’s about being there for others even as you are there for you.  Most of all, it’s about loving other people while not forgetting to love yourself. 

So yeah, it’s not all about me but it’s not all about you either … it’s all about us.

Reflection

But Moses’ hands grew weary, so they took a stone and put it under him, and he sat on it,  while Aaron and Hur held up his hands, one on one side, and the other on the  other side. So his hands were steady until the going down of the  sun.  Exodus 17:12

In the same  way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works  and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.  Matthew 5:16

“This is my  commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you…”  John 15:12

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

