Life is for Living Every Day

Embracing Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

A Writer’s Best Christmas Gift Ever

Leave a comment


 

yes - notepad & pen

So very pleased to be a contributor to the December 2013 issue of Anansesem: The Caribbean Children’s Literature Magazine.  A great Christmas gift, especially since it reinforces (I think) the fact that yes, Gale is indeed a writer of some worth.

Soon I will be an author too but I want to share my mind set where these ‘titles’ are concerned.  I have been penning short stories, poetry and essays since I was 9 years old.  My work has won several local awards. I have created short screenplays and motivational videos.  I have written company manuals, training guidelines and analysis reports.  Yet, in spite of all this, I never ever thought of myself as a ‘writer’ per se until the story (the 3000 word version) published in this magazine won a Barbados NIFCA Silver award in 2011 and I was asked to perform it live on stage at our Literary Arts Gala night.  That night a light bulb went off somewhere in the recesses of my brain as I acknowledged the amazing crowd response and finally accepted: “Yes, I am a writer and a performer – and my work is damn good.”

In 2014 I will become a published author.  I am excited yet anxious as I ask myself:

  • will my readers like what I’ve written?
  • will my voice stand out?
  • will my words make a difference in someone’s life?
  • will I have any readers in the first place?

Yet I cannot stop writing!  The words inside my head fight to get out, and I have no choice but to release them into being because … I am a Barbadian writer and I’d better not forget it!

To access the magazine’s content click on the link below and happy reading of my story entitled: “What a Lime of a Night!”.

Oh … and yeah me – I rock 🙂

http://www.anansesem.com/2013/12/december-2013-issue.html

Anansesem December Issue

 

 

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

