Life is for Living Every Day

Sharing this fact: Faith + Family + Friendship + Love + Laughter = Life

You are not exercising for anyone else except you!

Leave a comment


The Scorpion!

The Scorpion

"x" marks the spot (or round in this case)!

“x” marks the spot (or round in this case)

Last time I was at the gym I did a workout named the Scorpion.  I think it worked out to something like 4 x 4 x 3 but I’m not good at calculations so I just got out the cool chalk (bought specially for me by my trainer because of my bad memory) and marked everything off on the side of the barbel stand as I progressed slowly and surely.  It was torture but I felt sooooo good afterwards!  What a great stress buster after a hard day at work!

I have made a great effort since I left school to exercise regularly.  I ran 10K and 5K races.  I signed up for aerobics and went to the gym at least three times a week.  I bought a bicycle and rode every single day, Monday to Friday.  I weighed in at 115 lbs and was heaviest at 120 lbs.  Really cool right?  Yes, but it was easier to maintain this lifestyle when I was single and childless.  It got progressively harder and harder to keep up with exercise after getting married, having my son and trying to focus on my career. 

Fast forward to 2013, very hot flashes, a sometimes hectic travel schedule, serious project deadlines at work and fluctuating weight gain/loss: my diet has gone out of the window more times than I care to imagine, I can’t eat to time on business trips, I don’t see a treadmill, bike or running trail for days and I go crazy making love to any scale which happens to be in my hotel room.  In a nutshell?  I am de-motivated, depressed and destined to fail UNLESS I make a conscious decision to keep moving!  I learnt the hard way that it’s all about mindset too, because I am not exercising for my coach; I am exercising for ME (and that’s why I liked this post: Keep Calm, and Keep Moving). 

And now a word of warning

It’s Christmas time.  We are going to be more social than normal visiting friends and family sharing the Christmas spirit (and all of the associated calories).  Do not beat yourself up, but understand the value of working off that slice of chocolate cake or that glass of eggnog afterwards. 

Can’t make it to the gym?  There’s your home (or hotel room) for push ups, jumping jacks, lunges, etc.  Can’t exercise for an hour?  Then half of an hour is better than nothing.  Can’t exercise seven days a week?  Four days can work too.  Not sure about cardio?  A skipping rope is inexpensive and you don’t need a lot of space to use it.  Given a choice of soda or water at lunch or dinner? Water is the safest and healthiest option.

It’s all about life-defining decisions, and we all know the right ones we should make; but the main one here is that we keep active at all costs. 

Remember, it’s your life and you only get to live it once.

Great for cardio in a small space (or when it's raining on the outside)

Great to pack in a suitcase for cardio in a small space (or when it’s raining on the outside)

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother and lover of laughter; story teller and best-selling author; happy to follow God's lead and to leave out my mantra: "you've gotta be a rainbow in the lives of others especially when it rains."

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

