Life is for Living Every Day

Sharing this fact: Faith + Family + Friendship + Love + Laughter = Life

3 SIMPLE SAYINGS

Leave a comment


Mother always knows best – maybe because she’s been there and done that many times over in her life. See what this blogger’s mom shared with him and what he learnt as he applied hwat she said to his life.

COMMON SENSE DAD ®

My mom would have been ninety-two last week.  Here are three gems she left me:

Don’t be so open minded that your brain falls out.

Open_Mind_xlargeAll of us have been in situations where our better nature overrides our common sense.  I’ve loaned money to friends.  I’ve counseled people to stay hopeful and remain in bad relationships.  I’ve even been tempted to let my teenage son have his girlfriend sleep over – and, in each of those cases, I’ve had to remind myself that, chances are, I will end up on the wrong end of those equations. I’ll lose my money (and perhaps my friend.) I’ll be providing grief counseling to broken-hearted lovers.  And I’ll continually worry about my son and his girlfriend.

With children, I have found this sentiment reads as being naïve… and sometimes it’s important that they learn certain lessons on their own.  How many toys loaned to…

View original post 1,005 more words

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother and lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead and to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

