Life is for Living Every Day

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

“You’re a stay-at-home mom? What do you DO all day?”

Leave a comment


Some people (mostly men) assume that being a stay-at-home mom means you do nothing but lounge around all day watching TV and eating popcorn … not! There is so much to be done and it always needs to be done sooner rather than later. That being said, I have been a part of the corporate world from the time I was 18 years old. I got married at 30, had my son at 32 and got divorced at 42. Like many of us, I was mother and father before I became a single parent. It was one of the hardest times in my life, but I made it and my son made it, and I think we are both the better having gone through it together.

Reading Raven

This man couldn’t have said this better.  I was a stay-at-home mom for 6 years, and I loved every discouraging, arduous & anxiety ridden minute of it.  My children’s father was deployed a lot, and I was in the reserves.  We had the three kids….and three dogs.  What did I do all day?  Let’s just say, if it’s household related I did it.  All meals were made from scratch, I baked healthy snacks from scratch, the house was always immaculate and so were the kids.  Everyone was, except me.  I was always the first one up and the last one to bed each and every day.  I fixed things, killed bugs & took out the trash.  I was the father & mother before their father asked for a divorce.  Now I have to work, and I would give all of my girlie parts to be able to go back to being…

View original post 163 more words

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of loud laughter amidst tears; happy to follow God's lead while writing a word or two (and winning national awards) to make a difference in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

