Life is for Living Every Day

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

Cancer & Me

Leave a comment


Having lost my awesome mum to cancer in 2009 found I totally related to this post written by my friend Nailah. Do you have a loved one who has been diagnosed with cancer? If so, this article will offer some words of ‘wisdom’.

caribbeanpassion

Over the last three years I have lost so many friends and relatives to cancer that I’ve made a conscious effort to stop counting.

Writing that sentence grieves me for in the space created in my mind as I pause to think of what I’ll write next, I can’t help but remember a favourite uncle, my best friend, an admired author/teacher, the daughter of a kind neighbour and the many others whose lives have touched mine in some special way.

But I’m not writing this essay to reflect on what I’ve lost, but rather on what I’ve discovered.

In October 2010 (a week after the death of our beloved Prime Minister David Thompson who’d lost his own brief battle with cancer), my 70+ year old mother (she’s still protective of her EXACT age!) was diagnosed with Stage 2B cervical cancer. We were told that, given the aggressive nature of the…

View original post 693 more words

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of loud laughter amidst tears; happy to follow God's lead while writing a word or two (and winning national awards) to make a difference in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

