Life is for Living Every Day

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

God, do you know who moved my garden???

Leave a comment


IMG_0287Recently I’ve felt overwhelmed and totally out of control. So much has been happening all at once that my life has not been my own as I flit from here to there struggling to fit everything on to Gale’s To Do List and then tick it off. It’s like the more I tread water the further away I am moving from the shore.  Doesn’t a girl need time to smell the flowers anymore? Who moved my garden???

In a nutshell, let me share what has been happening to me lately.

• A few weeks ago Nathan my 15 year old son hurt his shoulder at judo and after an unexpected doctor’s visit and x-rays now needs regular therapy. This involves a hurried dash from the office around 2:10 p.m. (in Wildey, St. Michael) to collect him from school when it ends at 2:35 p.m. (at QC in St. James) to get him to the therapist (in Belleville, St. Michael) for his 3:00 p.m. appointment – that is the last time they have each day. We usually make it – like barely – but no need to mention the stress involved in actually getting to making it. My life is on hold for now until the swelling goes down and the shoulder regains its strength but suffice to say I will be writing you some thoughts on driving in Barbados in the very near future.

• My family and I are trying to find a good home/companion for my elderly aunt of 84 years. This is my mum’s closest sister who never truly recovered from her death in 2009. There is no-one available to stay with her and like most people that age, she doesn’t want to leave her home to stay with someone else; she also insists she does not want to go into a home even though she totally detests staying by herself at night. It also looks as though she has early Alzheimer’s … this makes conversations and day-to-day living very interesting on her bad days. Going through this process however although quite emotional has taught me that you should try to make arrangements for unforeseen circumstances in your old age. It’s not only about retirement and having a cup of tea calmly on your patio every morning at 10 o’clock as you watch the world go by on their way to work. It’s about what will happen to you when there’s no-one to look after you and you can’t afford the monthly expense of putting yourself into a home.

• My company is moving full speed ahead with its agenda for 2013 and I will soon be travelling every other week as we roll out various training modules. Presenting the material/content is the easy part; the planning and preparing is the challenge while travelling on Liat takes this all to a whole new level but I am speaking life into on-time flights with no delays or cancellations over all my planes and Caribbean destinations! Do I hear an Amen? Amen!

• On Saturday I had the amazing opportunity of being the guest speaker at the Woman of Purpose Ministry breakfast meeting. The breakfast at Divi South Winds hotel on our south coast was great and you could feel the spirit of God all around as we awesome women came together to be with Him. It was a humbling life-changing experience and I want to thank everyone who supported me. Best of all were the attendees who came to hug me close afterwards and to let me know how much the presentation meant to them. They felt as though God was speaking directly to them; of course He was! I was only the messenger but I was elated that His words touched them in hearing as much as they touched me in writing and speaking.  If you want to find out more on how to take your eyes out of your rearview mirror and focus more on what lies ahead then drop me a note at weithers@gmail.com with “What’s In Your Rearview Mirror?” in the subject line 🙂

In the midst of all this I cannot forget that it’s still Lent. People laugh when I say that the devil is extra busy attacking those of us who observe this season but isn’t it obvious? This is the time when we read our bibles more, pray and fast more, spend more time with God … hello? The devil absolutely hates this! It’s like “how dare we go against sin when we know it’s so much easier to give in than to stand up to what’s right as the Lord’s special children”? Satan wants to distract us from the programme and lead us into temptation rather than let God deliver us evil!

So can you relate to my story? Do you have days that spawn into weeks and sometimes months where everything needs your attention at once? And if your answer is yes what can we do about it?

My advice to myself and to others out there drowning under a raging choppy sea of life right now is this: I believe God is telling us to stand firm! I am not perfect and neither are you; there are days when everything will fall magically into place and others when we can feel the individual hairs on our heads becoming grayer by the moment.  The  victory however will be ours; we just have to hang in there and trust that God will give us the strength to overcome whatever challenges may come our way. He is our life raft and our life vest but we may need to acknowledge those times when we are being pruned to bear more fruit … and what a harvest it will be! God is preparing us for a super fantabulous future and I don’t want to miss it; I am sure you don’t want to either.

God’s Promises for Reflection 

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

Philippians 4:6 (NIV)

Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.

Ephesians 6:13 (NIV)

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Matthew 11:28-30 (NIV)

Ladybug_Yellow Flower

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of loud laughter amidst tears; happy to follow God's lead while writing a word or two (and winning national awards) to make a difference in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

