Life is for Living Every Day

Embracing Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

Let us thank God … for everything!

Leave a comment


daily living gratitude

Thank you Lord!

I consider my relationship with God to be very special.  Like a child with an indulging parent I can talk and He will listen, I can complain and He will listen, I can nag or whine and He will still listen.  But in the midst of His listening I know He is right there waiting to teach me a thing or two especially when I need it most. 

Last week for example found me complaining bitterly about forever going out of my way to help people who appeared ungrateful.  Amidst my bedtime prayers I vented: “I do and I do – and not even a little thank you God; you could imagine that?  But I tired now, so let somebody else be nice ‘cause I done wid dat!” 

I could hear him sighing before replying: “You know Gale, everything to be known about this life has been recorded in one place for you.  When will you grow up and really pay attention to my teachings?  Stop whining and go read 2 Timothy 3:1-9.  Afterwards you and I will need to have a talk!”

I winced as I reached for my bible.  God wasn’t impressed with me at all but I was ready to receive His lesson and do whatever was needed to make wrong things right.  I realized that there was absolutely no excuse for my attitude because there it was clearly stated in black and white.  Our world was made up of all kinds of people including the ungrateful, abusive, conceited, not-so-nice ones intent on infiltrating our lives with their insensitivities and inconsiderate behaviour. 

Yet I became reflective as my own reality set in.  Who was the real culprit when it came to not saying thanks?  Did I remember to thank God for my health, sound mind, five functioning senses and a body that moved as it should most of the time?  What about being grateful for a great son, loving family, supportive friends, a home of our own, a car to transport us to and from our destinations, and a job to pay our bills?  When last had I truly thanked Him for going out of His way to look out for me?  And how come He hadn’t ever told me He was tired of providing everything I needed even though I didn’t seem all that grateful?  Could I honestly live without some of the things He gave me?  Who was the one without the manners now?

Apart from being the key to knowing what is what and what is not, the bible is filled with God’s faithful promises as well as very important teachings on how to deal with many of today’s life issues.  More importantly though is how the intensity of His love can literally rise out of the pages to touch and soothe us even as we read.  I strongly believe it is this unconditional love which enables us to not only successfully exist in challenging times, but to also be genuinely thankful in spite of being surrounded by certain kinds of people.

Today, I thank God from the bottom of my heart for everything in my life; I thank Him as well for you, for His awesomely amazing love and for not giving up on me – ever.  Today I encourage you to think about your life too, and to give thanks – in the midst of everything.

Verse for Reflection

But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God— having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with them.

They are the kind who worm their way into homes and gain control over weak-willed women, who are loaded down with sins and are swayed by all kinds of evil desires, always learning but never able to acknowledge the truth. Just as Jannes and Jambres opposed Moses, so also these men oppose the truth—men of depraved minds, who, as far as the faith is concerned, are rejected. But they will not get very far because, as in the case of those men, their folly will be clear to everyone.

2 Timothy 3:1-9 (NIV)

Ladybug_Yellow Flower

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of laughter; happy to follow God's lead to be a rainbow in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

