Life is for Living Every Day

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

And when you pray …

Leave a comment


Praying
Recently I wrote a note to some friends about prayers and praying. It was a selfish muse really, because I wanted them to share how they felt about praying and communicating with God, especially when it seemed as though their prayers were not being heard. Ideally, I hoped I could learn a thing or two from their sharing and maybe even improve my own prayer life in the process. But even as I penned the words I was already looking inwards on my life and deeply analyzing how I truly felt about my relationship with God, the quality of my prayers (quantity was a given) and my intentions as I prayed for others.

Although I have quite a lot of work to do on me, I realized that the most meaningful moments of prayer happened when someone else took over the mantle and prayed for me. Those were the times when I couldn’t utter one single word on my own behalf; times when I asked a devoted man or woman of God to be my voice in the wilderness, to physically touch me and pray God’s word over my broken body. In the end, those were the times when I experienced the most amazing utterly indescribable feeling of peace from among the troubled pieces!
Indeed, the bible is one of the best maps for plotting the path of our prayer life. Here we learn how Jesus wants us to pray and see how Job is rewarded after he offers prays for his friends. We are inspired to put aside our pride and self-importance, and humbly invite others to pray not only with us but for us. Best of all, we are encouraged not to be anxious because God has it all under the control. To that I say: “Praise the Lord or PTL!” Today we will step out confidently and present our requests to the Lord, even as we rejoice in the fact that He will answer our prayers … because we do believe.
♦ Verses for Reflection (NIV)
“And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words. Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask him.”

Matthew 6:5-8

“After Job had prayed for his friends, the LORD restored his fortunes and gave him twice as much as he had before.”

Job 42:10

“I urge you, brothers and sisters, by our Lord Jesus Christ and by the love of the Spirit, to join me in my struggle by praying to God for me.”

Romans 15:30

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

Philippians 4:6

“If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.”

Matthew 21:22

‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’

Jeremiah 33:3

Author: galeweithers

Barbadian mother of teenager; lover of loud laughter amidst tears; happy to follow God's lead while writing a word or two (and winning national awards) to make a difference in the lives of others.

A penny for your thoughts; share them here

